On Nikon & Other Photo Gear

Everything Nikon and whatever…

D700 Pop-Up Flash DIY Repair

The pop-up flash of my D700 stopped working, not that I use it that much.

Still, it has some use for Commanding other Nikon speedlights or as an emergency flash. So, I called Nikon Repair for a repair quote. They gave me a hefty 290Euro [±397 USD] estimate for the repair, which I find out of proportion.

Ok, there are a number of possible causes for the non-firing of the pop-up flash [faulty flash tube, wiring, electronic component(s) for e.g] but one of the most common is the lack of electric contact in the switch at the end-of-travel position of the pop-up flash.

So, I decided to take a closer look. If your camera is outside the warranty and you have some basic DIY skills then you might want to try the step-by-step instructions below before you handout the cash, especially if your hot-shoe is working fine.

It worked for me, saving some cash and inconvenience in the process so…here is:       D700_PopUpFlash_DIY_Repair

16/03/2010 - Posted by | Tips | , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Fantastic work!

    Comment by Phil | 18/12/2014 | Reply

  2. good tutorial, I had same problem with my d700 although it was under warranty i didn’t want the downtime without my d700 by sending it in for repair, followed the instructions and works perfect now.

    Comment by tris | 04/05/2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

